RSS Feed

Dither then Dinner

I shall begin my blogging week (we’re all agreed that the week begins on Monday, aren’t we?) (I KNOW some of you just said, “I never agreed” with a snotty sniff) with a shout-out to a local business: Carney’s Corners in Herkimer, NY.

I had several good reasons for wanting to send out for food on Sunday.  To begin with, I did not want to leave the house. I also knew that part of our order could be a salad, leftovers from which would form part of my lunch today, so I would not have to make one.  These two reasons dovetailed rather nicely, because I did not have any salad fixings in the house.  Additionally, I lacked several ingredients for the delicious dinner I would have liked to make, if I actually felt like cooking (I was ambivalent on that point).  The last consideration was only a partial reason.  I am pretty good at making something acceptable with what I have at hand, and I often get into cooking after I start, if I wasn’t in the mood to begin with.

I still spent the morning and part of the afternoon dithering over whether I ought to leave the house, go to the store, and make dinner as well as a salad for lunches. I felt it was the right thing to do, but I had my doubts about my ambition holding up till I got everything done.  It would be discouraging to buy salad ingredients and not make the salad.  What if the stuff went bad before I actually made the salad?  Then I would REALLY feel terrible!

Eventually we decided to call Carney’s Corners for delivery.  We got a large roast beef sub and a large chef salad with ranch dressing.  Yum!  Delivery was prompt, the price was reasonable.  What more could I ask?  It was a delightful part of my Wrist to Forehead Sunday.

Carney’s Corners is located at 232 N. Washington St. in Herkimer.  Phone number is 315-866-7191.

 

Leave a Reply

