RSS Feed

Wrist to Forehead Sunset Boulevard

“All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up.”

And earlier she just says, “I’m ready.”  At no time does she say,  “I’m ready for my close-up, Mr. DeMille,” as I have heard many people quote.

We just watched Sunset Boulevard for perhaps the 8,467th time (I just made that number up, it’s probably a lot fewer than that).  Usually I like to spend my Wrist to Forehead Sunday watching crime shows, most notably Snapped. Sometimes we mix it up a little by watching movies.

It was not always that way, if I may be forgiven a short detour down Memory Lane.  There was a time when I was quite burnt out from my Monday through Friday job and Sunday was a very sad day for me.  The saddest sound on that sad day was the ticking clock on 60 Minutes.  My solution in those days was to watch movies all day, so I would not be constantly reminded what day it was.

These days I do not find Sunday to be so terrible (see? Detour over).  For one reason, Steven only works till 1 p.m. if at all, so we get to spend the afternoon together.

Why then, one might reasonably ask, is it so often Wrist to Forehead Sunday?  My first impulse is to answer, “It just is, leave me alone.”  However, since I am trying to get a blog post out of this, perhaps I could attempt a better explanation.

I think my problem is that I get very little done during the week.  On the weekend, I have two whole days to make myself useful.  Write, clean, organize, cook, and, oh yes, have Mohawk Valley adventures to write about in the blog.  Why in the world would I think I can get all that stuff done in two days? It is especially silly of me to think it when I have the experience of many previous weekends when I did not get stuff done.

And yet, I keep hoping.  I tell myself that I KNOW I won’t get EVERYTHING done. I find it not unreasonable to suppose that I might possibly get SOMETHING done.   It becomes a little wrist-to-forehead-inducing when I do not.

Then again, is not the purpose of one’s days off to relax and renew?  I spent some time relaxing.  And is it not of great importance to me to spend time with my most beloved husband?  I certainly enjoyed watching Sunset Boulevard, especially watching for the famous quote.

I did, in fact, get a few things done.  Some laundry, the dishes, cooked one dinner, typed up character sheets for that murder mystery I’ve been talking about. And two blog posts.  This is the second one.  Happy Sunday, everyone.

We’re going to watch Network next.

 

Leave a Reply

