RSS Feed

Cooking Without Wine

The only reason I cooked dinner tonight was so that I could write a blog post about it.  I’m afraid it was not a very inspired dinner, but it was cheaper than sending out (although then I could have given a shout-out to a local business), and it was quite tasty.

Basically, I cooked some sausage and garlic, then added tomato sauce, tomato paste, canned mushrooms, basil, oregano and a VERY few hot pepper flakes.  I put this sauce on Spicy Tomato Linguine from The Pasta Shoppe in Utica, NY.  My favorite sister, Cheryl gave me and Steven the pasta for Christmas.

What makes this recipe different from many of the recipes I write in the blog about is that I did NOT cook with wine.  I did enjoy a wine glass of seltzer with fresh lemon while I cooked.  Yes, I continue to resist the devil on my shoulder I mentioned in yesterday’s post.

WARNING!  I am about to mention my headaches.  If you are sick of reading about them, READ NO FURTHER!

I feel especially happy I did not have any wine yesterday, because I woke up with a horrendous headache this morning.  In spite of the pain, I enjoyed the vague feeling of vindication with this further proof that alcohol in not the source of my headaches. And then I started to feel like I shouldn’t feel so delighted about it.

And now I begin to feel like maybe I shouldn’t be writing so much about it. Am I obsessed with wine?  Ah, wait, no I’m not. I talked about this before.  It’s the Doughnut Effect (I’ll put one of them there links so you can click back and see the blog post where I talked about that).

In any case, my headache has subsided by now.  Dinner is eaten and the leftovers put away (Steven nicely put them away). Time to get in with my Saturday evening.  Hope to see you all on Wrist to Forehead Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

