RSS Feed

Q Goes to Eye Q

My favorite doctor has always been the eye doctor.  I don’t have to take my clothes off, nobody sticks their hand in my mouth, I don’t even have to step on a scale. What’s not to like?  I went to a familiar doctor at a new place today at Eye Q of CNY in New Hartford, NY.

Anyone who was disappointed when Sears in Sangertown Square closed, taking their optical with them, can rejoice.  Dr. Carrock and Diane Engell, optician and manager, are now at Eye Q.  Full disclosure: I used to work in the optical industry (although not at Sears).  I worked with both Diane and Dr. Carrock at different times, and Diane is a personal friend.  But Eye Q is a really great optical, and I am happy to give them a shout-out.

One of my favorite things about the business is the name.  Since I am Cindy Q and they are Eye Q, I feel a certain kinship.  Maybe I could even get a job there one day.

I did not enjoy the drive along Route 5S from Herkimer to New Hartford as much as I usually do, because it was too rainy and misty to enjoy any views.  Still, I’ve driven on worse roads, and soon I was in New Hartford looking for the plaza.  Eye Q is in the same plaza as 5 Guys Burgers and the Gold Mine Jewelers.  It’s a busy little plaza, but I found a parking space with no problem.

Diane greeted me and gave me a tour.  It’s a small but clean and professional place with a nice selection of frames.  I have a hard time picking frames, but Diane is very helpful in that respect.  I did not make my final selection till after my exam.  I did not try every frame on the boards, as I confess I have been known to do, but I tried on a good many.

Dr. Carrock is an excellent doctor.  I’ve never had a problem with my prescription.  I was also happy with the price I paid for my glasses.  I told Diane I’d tell all my family and friends about Eye Q of CNY.  I guess I’ve told all my blog readers as well.

Eye Q of CNY is located at 4660 Commercial Dr., New Hartford NY, phone number 315-797-2020.  For more information you can visit their website at www.eyeqofcny.com.  You can also Like them on Facebook.

 

Leave a Reply

