RSS Feed

Breakfast with the Elks

This morning I was able to indulge in what has been an annual treat for me since we moved to the area: the Herkimer Elks Lodge Breakfast.

The Elks hold weekly breakfasts every January to fund their projects for the year.  And every year, I go eat a yummy breakfast and write a blog post about it.  Sometimes more than one (well, I get hungry again, and I always need a new blog post).  Steven has been scheduled to  work every Sunday, so I was without a date.  Luckily, my friend Diane agreed to accompany me today.

For $9 we could get juice, coffee, eggs, white or wheat toast, pancakes, baked beans, home fries with or without onions, and bacon or sausage.  I passed on the pancakes; Diane declined the beans.  She chose cranberry juice while I had orange.  We both chose scrambled eggs and bacon.

The Elks all seemed to be having a fun time being diner staff for the day.  The customers were enjoying themselves as well.  Friends often meet at these community events, especially in a small town like ours.  The food was yummy, and Diane and I were able to catch up on each other’s lives.

The breakfasts continue January 17 and 24, from 8 to 11 a.m. at the Elks Lodge, Mary Street, Herkimer, NY.  If you’re in the area and like a good breakfast, I encourage you to check it out.

 

4 responses »

  1. I like having annual events and have featured a few things like this. Mainly, your breakfast really sounded filling and delicious. I may have passed beans for breakfast but still really worth the cost and worthy cause. Lovely that you observe this yearly. Smiles, Robin

    Reply
  2. I love that breakfast, I’m going the 24th.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

