RSS Feed

Ulterior Motives in Theatre

In lieu of my usual Wrist to Forehead Sunday, I thought I would share a little local theatre news.  Full disclosure:  I have an ulterior motive for doing so, as you’ll see.

The next production of Ilion Little Theatre (ILT) is The Birds, to be directed by Stephen Wagner.  Performance dates are February 26, 27, 28 and March 4, 5 and 6.  Auditions are January 4 and 5.  Yes, folks, tomorrow and the next day!  Auditions will take place at 7 p.m. at Ilion Little Theatre in The Stables, Remington Avenue, Ilion, NY.  Auditioners (what, computer, that’s not a word? It should be) do not need to prepare anything.

The cast calls for two males and two females, ranging in age from 20 to 50. Backstage people are needed as well.  For a brief plot summary and break-down of characters, you can consult the Ilion Little Theatre Club Facebook page.  For more information on Ilion Little Theatre in general, you can visit their website at http://www.ilionlittletheatre.org/.

Regarding my ulterior motive:  I think my delightful husband, Steven, should audition.  I thought if I published this in my blog post, some of our friends might read it and say, “Yeah, Steve should audition!”  Then they might call him or message him on Facebook or tell him when they see him.

However, I thought the post might be of interest to other readers as well.  Are you a local reader with an interest in drama?  I encourage you to audition.  If you are more interested in helping out backstage, you are also more than welcome.  We love new members.

Do I intend to audition?  Regular readers know I love ACTING (said with dramatic gesture)!  Well, I do not plan on it at this point.  I am committed (I know, some of you think I ought to be committed) to directing the next play at ILT.  However, I will accompany Steven to auditions (if I am successful in talking him into going), and, as we all know, in theatre, anything can happen.

 

Leave a Reply

