RSS Feed

Not So Wrist to Forehead After All

Well, of course it’s Wrist to Forehead Sunday.  It is not only a mere two days after Christmas, tomorrow I must return to work after a lovely four day weekend. WHAT IS THERE TO FEEL HAPPY ABOUT?

In fact there is a lot to feel happy about.  I am actually having a pleasant Sunday.  This morning my husband and I drove to Chadwicks to go to mass with some of my favorite family members including my utterly delightful great-nephew.  After church, Steven and I drove into Frankfort for breakfast at The Knight Spot. Back in Herkimer, we stopped at T & J’s Fruits and Vegetables for red peppers, my latest addiction.

Right now we are indulging in one of my favorite pastimes: hanging out in sweatpants watching true crime shows (Dateline on TLC right now, perhaps an episode or two of Snapped later) while I contemplate what I will do with my red peppers and when I should start.

More importantly, along with my usual Post-Chrristmas Letdown, I am intermittently experiencing Post-Christmas Relief and a little bit of New Year’s Surge.  My relief:  ah, for better or worse, the presents have been completed, wrapped and mostly given (a few are at my parents’ house, awaiting other family members’ arrival),  I’ve done all the Christmas things I can do, even if I didn’t do them well, even if I missed a few (Hmm, I think there’s a poem there somewhere).

And now the New Year’s Surge:  with Christmas over, I can move on to other things.  Bigger and better things? We’ll see.  In the meantime, I have more true crime shows to watch, a dinner to think about, and some serious hanging out to do before I return to work tomorrow.  Happy Sunday, everyone.

 

Leave a Reply

