RSS Feed

Wrist to Christmas?

As I sit here in my living room, Acer on my lap, Angela Lansbury is singing that she Needs a Little Christmas NOW!

Don’t we all?

Oh, I know, not everybody celebrates Christmas and not everybody loves it blah, blah, blah.  I’m just going to be perfectly up front about it: I LOVE Christmas (the whole Christmas season. Oh, please don’t ask why, no one quite knows the reason)  (How many of you can quote large passages of How the Grinch Stole Christmas if not the whole thing?  Oh, I know some of you can and do; it’s not just me).

Where was I?  Ah yes, Wrist to Forehead Sunday.  After my Santa breakfasting, slow driving and furniture moving adventures yesterday, I had a little too much white wine and stayed up a little too late watching television.  In my defense… why am I defending myself to you?  Are you judging me? Well, I would never judge someone for judging me, BUT…

I started my entertainment oriented evening with a movie I had DVR’d from TCM on Boris Karloff day. I adore Boris Karloff.  This movie also had Edmund Gwenn, who of course played Santa Clause on Miracle on 34th Street.  I saw the name in the opening credits but it did not register till I heard the actor talk and said, “Hey, that’s Santa Claus!”  So with Santa and the Grinch in the cast, it was almost like watching a Christmas movie.

Later on, Steven and I watched our DVD of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, so I could really bask in Karloff’s mellifluous tones.    We followed it up with Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol and Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer.  These Christmas specials bring back so many memories.  Of course we also discuss the song lyrics (after singing along), the dated gender-based messages, and other sorts of observations that theatre-oriented persons such as Steven and I are bound to make.

Right now we are listening to Christmas CDs, of which we have an extensive collection, and debating out moves for the rest of the day.  I personally could get into watching a couple of Christmas movies and going for a walk once the sun sets to enjoy our neighbors’ Christmas lights.  As always, I’ll try to work on a better blog post for tomorrow.  Happy Sunday, everyone.

 

3 responses »

  1. “It came without ribbons. It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags.” Yup, I am a Grinch quoter too.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Christmas in the 1950s | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

