RSS Feed

A Little Christmas Spirit?

“Oh by gosh, by golly, it’s time for mistletoe and holly!”  My Dad used to sing that at Christmas time.  I thought he made it up. Imagine my surprise when I found out it was really a song.

Yes, I am having a Wuss-out Wednesday post.  I merely led with a Christmas memory in hopes that my readers’ Christmas spirit will lead them to forgive me and keep reading.  It’s not too early for Christmas spirit is it?  I like Christmas spirit.

It does not feel like December in the Mohawk Valley.  To me it is more like November, dark and gloomy with cold rain. Mind you, I like November.  I feel the gloom is part of its charm.

Steven put up Christmas lights on our porch today, finding time between precipitation.  He left them turned on all afternoon, because it was such a gloomy day.  So I got to see the porch lit up when I came home shortly before four.  It did not look as nice as it will when it is truly dark out, but I appreciated it.  I hope for some non-rainy evenings so we can walk around Herkimer and admire other people’s lights.

I confess, I am not entirely basking in Christmas spirit tonight. I am sad, because of yet another shooting.  So much BAD is going on in the world.  But I have nothing wise or insightful to say about it.  If I can think of anything remotely helpful to do about it, well, I will do so.  In the meantime, I shall hit publish before I bring everybody else down.  Hope to see you on Non-Sequitur Thursday.

 

Leave a Reply

