RSS Feed

Musings on the MRI

Have you ever had an MRI?  They’re freaky!  I felt like I was being operated on by a mad scientist, and that was the fun part of the experience.

Am I really going to write a blog post about getting an MRI?  Well, nothing else presents itself, and it is Middle-aged Musings Monday (or Mental Meanderings Monday, take your choice).  I did not get a post written on breaks at work, because I was writing something else (yay me, at least I wrote), and I am home late and want to get this post published so I might have a little time to relax before bed.

I’ve often remarked that it is tiresome to go on about one’s health problems, but I have often observed that that does not stop most of us (don’t pretend you’re the exception to the rule; I won’t believe you).  Well, I won’t go on and on, because I like to keep these off the cuff posts short.

What I liked best about the MRI was that I got to lie down with my eyes closed.  I didn’t have to close my eyes, but they told me not to move my head, and I believe blinking counts as movement.  Best just to keep them shut.  Then too, when your eyes are closed you can’t see the cage-looking thing they put over your face and you don’t see the low ceiling they roll you under.

You don’t have to do anything but lie as still as you can and listen to all the noise.  Boy, is there a lot of noise!  I thought lying still like that I might fall asleep.  I’m sure snoring would count as movement in addition to being pretty embarrassing, so I guess I should have been happy for the noise to keep me awake.

The other good thing about this MRI was when they injected some stuff into my arm, I didn’t even feel the needle go in.  That’s some skill by the medical professional involved, that is.  In turn, they appreciated my prominent veins.

Probably the worst part of my medical ordeal was driving home in the dark afterward.  I took a wrong turn and ended up following an extremely dark road back to the highway.  At least by the time I was on that road, I was pretty sure I knew where I was.

And that is my story about my MRI.  I’ll see what I can do about not having a Tired Tuesday post.  As always, I hope you’ll tune in.

 

3 responses »

  1. My youngest daughter was 11 when she had pains in her jaw, knees and the knuckles of her hands. The regular x-rays and MRI’s started coming regularly at age 13. She described this machine in such a funny way I will never forget it. She thought it sounded like, “noisy elves pounding and tinkering with tools.” I asked her if they were Santa’s elves and she said she heard them but did not see them. She had JRA, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis. She lives with it, but is off meds and trying to use healthy foods, avoiding preservatives…
    Anyway, hope your tests come out the way you wish for. I am infrequent viator so I missed out why you had an MRI. (Sorry.)

    Reply
    • Oh, it’s nothing, probably. You know how doctor’s like to give tests. I like your daughter’s description. Me being a fan of cheesy horror movies immediately leaped to the mad scientist explanation. I hope the healthy foods route helps your daughter. It couldn’t hurt, as I like to say.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Webster Is Not Much Help | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

