RSS Feed

I Plan to Make a Plan

I have been letting myself off the hook a lot lately, and not just with making silly as opposed to “real” blog posts.   The problem stems from my rule of Any Writing Counts.  On the one hand, it does.  Putting words on paper works your writing muscles.  I don’t mean just the muscles in your fingers and wrist, either.  I mean your brain, if you have one, and they found out when they did a CAT scan on me that I do.

However, writing blog posts and letters or postcards to friends and clever Facebook posts and comments on other people’s blogs and entries in my TV Journal… however fun they may be, however useful they may be to my writing muscles, will not get my novel written.   Only working on the novel will get the novel done.

I have been thinking about this in a vague sort of way for a while now, even as lately I write less and less of all that other writing which I insist counts as writing.  The fact is, I do less and less of everything lately, but that is not what I’m talking about right now.  I have been thinking Work On That Novel.

Today I got a bit of inspiration from another blogger I read sometimes, Dawne Webber.  She recently hit a major milestone, a happy dance worthy event.  She got an agent.  You can click on her name, where I have linked to the post, but I’ll tell you, she wrote a novel, queried it everywhere with no result, wrote another novel, queried it almost everywhere and FINALLY got a good result.

THIS is what it’s all about!  She worked!  She wrote!  She worked some more!  She wrote some more! I have to get to work like her!

But first I have rehearsal for the play I am stage-managing.  And I have to write postcards to some folks (yes, I KNOW, postcards are not novels, but some of the people who receive my postcards really like them and there is no reason they should do without just because I want to write a novel).  And I have to work ten hours tomorrow, go to another rehearsal, and it would be a good idea if I also went running.  And I have to clean my basement, because a co-worker is going to sell him his washer and drier and I need a place to put them.

You see why I need a plan.  Somewhere amidst all the crap I have to do, I must find time to work on my novel.  When I have figured it out, I’ll let you know.  If any of you have any time management tips you’d like to share, feel free to comment.  Thanks.

 

4 responses »

  1. I love your any writing counts philosophy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

