RSS Feed

Roxy to Romance

It is Tired Tuesday, folks, and you can just get mad at me, because I’m not apologizing  (“I’m sorry but I’m not apologizing” is one of my favorite sayings).  In fact, I wrote most of a very good post about Saturday’s visit to the Garlic Festival (full name Mohawk Valley Garlic and Herb Festival).  But, as often happens with me and this kind of post, I want it to be BETTER.  I’ll work on it.

In the meantime, here is an update on theatre news.  The first official production of Ilion Little Theatre will begin rehearsals with a read-through tonight.  Roxy (you know, that play I’ve been blathering on about for weeks), if you recall, is actually a production of the Herkimer County Historical Society AT Ilion Little theatre.  It is not officially part of the ILT season.

The first ILT production is Lunch Hour by Jean Kerr, a romantic comedy.  I have agreed to be stage manager.  I have not acted as stage manager since sometime in the early 1990s, but I daresay I have not forgotten how.  At least I don’t have any lines to learn.  Auditions were held a couple of weeks ago.  The play is cast and we are read to go!

And I am missing the read-through tonight.  The director said it will be OK.  She understands that I am tired.  After all, killing your husband with an ax, burning the body and then getting hung for it all weekend kind of takes its toll.  And I have to do it all again this weekend.  I’m not complaining, mind you; I love to be in a play.  A good night’s sleep tonight will be just what I need.  Hope to see you all on Wuss-out Wednesday.

 

Leave a Reply

