RSS Feed

Actors Have to Eat, Too, You Know

Another thing about being in a play is that often one does not have time to grocery shop. Yesterday, therefore, I made a salad for today’s lunch using that old standby ingredient, What I Already Had In The House.  Today I make bold to offer a food post as part of this week’s All Roxy All The Time.

First I dumped a can of black beans into a colander and rinsed them.  While they drained I chopped up a tomato, zucchini and part of a red onion I had in the fridge.  I had purchased the tomato and zucchini at T & J’s Fruits and Vegetables in Herkimer earlier in the week, just to give the post a little local flair.   Next I sliced a few green olives.

For dressing I used mayonnaise and a little pub mustard (I like to buy different kinds of mustard; pub is the latest one I’ve tried).  To this I added a small spoonful of horseradish, a dash of hot sauce, garlic powder, salt-free lemon pepper, and cumin.  I taste-tested it as I stirred and it seemed OK.  I thought it could only get better as the flavors blended.

I’ve been eating it as I write this (at lunch time the next day) and I pronounce it  pretty good.  It got a little soupy, as salads with chopped tomato sometimes do, but not too bad.  Perhaps it is not a gourmet masterpiece, but as weekday lunch, it’ll do.

As a blog post written while I ate lunch at work then hurriedly typed in before rehearsal, I hope this will do.  Happy Wednesday and, oh look, I didn’t Wuss Out!

 

2 responses »

  1. Your unprepared meal is 10 times better than most of my planned meals. I may have to borrow your recipe. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

