RSS Feed

Making Time on Monday

Sorry, folks, it’s Wrist to Forehead Monday.  Maybe Tired Monday, although that doesn’t really have a ring to it.  I’m too tired for either Mental Meanderings or Middle-aged Musings.  I have no reason to feel so tired, but there it is.

I think one thing that is making me tired is that I am not writing, and I am damn tired of not being able to write.  All I have written today is less than a page on a letter to a friend.  And I was not particularly witty or interesting on that.  I had some great ideas on how to progress on my novel on Friday but have had no chance so far to implement them.  Oh, I know, real writers make time.

OK, hold it right there. Nobody can MAKE time.  We all have 24 hours in a day.  All the time management in the world will not make it 25 or even 24 hours and 6 minutes.

However, one can TAKE time.  The time you were using to do X can instead be used to do Y.  No, I’m not going to list all the crap I’ve been doing instead of writing, but, yes, it does involve cable television.  I’m fond of saying “don’t judge,” but in this case I’ll say go ahead and judge me, because I have not taken the time to write.

The nice thing about Monday, though, is that is the beginning of the week. I have the whole rest of the week to change my evil ways and write more.  Will I succeed?  You’ll read about it here if I do.  Happy Monday, everyone.

 

4 responses »

  1. Happy Monday, Cynthia. So hard on yourself! The blank pages wlll be waiting for you tomorrow. Always, my friend.

    Reply
    • Well, I published the post and have been messing around on Facebook so far. I think I’ll just write some nonsense in one of my journals for tonight and try to get a good night’s sleep. Thanks for the comment.

      Reply
  2. It bothers me that time only goes one way, and if moss something you’ve missed it for good. Like that hour in the afternoon I was going to use for writing. When I napped until 5 instead of ’til 4, the writing didn’t, couldn’t well, the writing, you know.

    Reply
    • Well, naps are important too. And sometimes when I take the time it doesn’t work either. Oh that sitting in front of a blank piece of paper! No wonder we avoid it when we fear THAT is going tohappen!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

