RSS Feed

No Worry Wednesday

This is my new feature, to replace Wuss-out Wednesday.  I like it.

Astute readers (have I any other kind?) probably read yesterday’s post and expected another ridiculous post today.  Well, I AM still trying to learn my lines for Roxy.  In fact, I did write something today, but it wasn’t a blog post, and I didn’t finish it.  Still, words on paper, that’s a good thing, right?

Logging onto WordPress.com this evening (later than expected once again; gotta love overtime), I saw that I had ten Likes and one comment on yesterday’s foolishness.  In the course of replying to the comment, No Worry Wednesday was born, so thank you to fellow blogger Mark Bialczak.

In order that my entire post not be an announcement of a new day for me, I will share you a story about yesterday’s rehearsal.

In case you didn’t know, Roxy is about Roxalana Druse, who murdered her husband in the Town of Warren, and subsequently was tried and hanged for it in Herkimer, NY.  It is a true story.  I play Roxy.  I shoot my husband and chop his head off with an ax (I didn’t need to include a spoiler alert for that; in addition to being a well-known bit of local history, the characters talk about it in the first scene).  In my defense, my husband is, to quote the play, a “goddam lousy son of a bitch.”

Art Wilks, the man playing my husband is a very good actor.  He is physically imposing and has a deep, gravelly voice.  When in character, he is mean and scary.  We were doing the scene in which I kill him.  He had just called me a goddam bitch and threatened to split my skull open with an ax.  It was a tense moment, and Art probably should have turned his cell phone off.

Art’s ring tone was a sweet, tinkly, music-box sounding tune.  It was soft, it was pleasant.  I tried not to break character, and if Art was perhaps ten percent less of a good actor, I might have made it.  As it was, the contrast was too much for me.  Along with everybody else, I cracked up laughing.

Perhaps in reaction to the tension of the scene, I laughed harder than I have laughed in years.  I laughed so hard I had to walk away.  I laughed so hard I gasped for breath.  I laughed and laughed and laughed.  I’m still chuckling just remembering.

I hope I have conveyed how humorous it was. However, in the spirit of the day, I shall not worry if I have not.  If anything has ever happened to you that made you laugh that hard, please share it in the comments.  I like to laugh.

 

2 responses »

  1. This made me laugh, just what I needed today, Thanks Cindy. I love reading your blog and look forward to it every night before bed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

