RSS Feed

Lame Minute Before the Race

The Boilermaker excitement continues.  And could somebody please explain to me why  I feel so blankety-blank NERVOUS about it?  I will run 15 Ks.  It will be fun. My problems of getting there and getting home afterward will be solved one way or another.  There is no reason for butterflies.

One theory about why I would be nervous is that I am on my employer’s Corporate Cup Team.  My time will count in a competition that could win money for a charity.  I will not run fast.  I never run very fast. But the others on my team already know that.  They let me on the team anyways.  It is no cause for distress.

Today Steven and I went to the Boilermaker Expo at Mohawk Valley Community College to pick up my race packet.  This was another source of stress.  Drive to Utica, find a parking space, make my way through a crowd — regular readers know I have trouble with all these things.  The little trip went off without a hitch.  One would expect me to feel relief.

And here I sit with my wrist to my forehead (figuratively speaking, that is), knowing that I am being completely stupid and self-dramatizing.  These are not insurmountable problems, I tell myself.  Quit being such a big baby!

Perhaps my problem is not the Boilermaker 15K at all.  Perhaps my problem is that this is the last Friday of my two week break.  I will run the Boilermaker Sunday and go back to work on Monday.  I believe this is something that could cause any rational person at least some amount of distress.

On the brighter side, I can look forward to next Friday, when Friday will MEAN something again.  It won’t be the end of my days off, it will be the beginning of my days off.  Yes, it will be two days rather than two weeks, must you bring up the negative aspects of everything?

In the meantime, don’t mind me.  I’m just being foolish.  I really am looking forward to the Boilermaker.  I’m even looking forward to the short, easy run I intend to take tomorrow morning. I like to run.

 

13 responses »

  1. The Dude Run Run

    Good luck on your run tomorrow! Once the gun goes off the butterflies will scatter and you will enjoy yourself!

    Reply
  2. I’ll be cheering you on from afar, good luck! I think you may have more than a few lame minutes AFTER the race. >^..^<

    Reply
  3. Next Saturday will be the Ilion days where you can relax. I wish I knew what time you would be going by “old Main” toward the finish line. I would go out and look for you. I’ll be working so if it’s a good time to take a break or lunch I would go cheer you on my friend !

    Reply
    • I sure couldn’t make a good prediction on that. I expect to run the whole race in under 2 hours, but who knows what time I’ll cross the start line with 14,000 runners. Oh yeah, Ilion Days. I have to make a poster for that!

      Reply
  4. I always get totally irrational butterflies before a race too – just one of those things, I guess.
    Best of luck for the race and have a great time! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Good luck tomorrow, Cynthia. All will unwind as if it has a mind of its own, so no use fretting about it. You did your best to prepare. Your work team knows what to expect. You’ll get there. Look around you, one foot in front of the other, and enjoy the 15K, one step and a time, moment by moment.

    And next Friday will be here before you know it, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

