RSS Feed

And Now to Hydrate

Welcome to another post in All Boilermaker All The  Time.  The race is taking on a looming presence in my psyche.  I approach it with trepidation and anticipation.  Today I lean more toward anticipation.  After all, it’s not just a race:  it’s a party!  And by “party” I don’t mean the after-party at the Saranac Brewery.  I mean the race itself.

It’s going to be FUN!  People will cheer, shake noisemakers, and hold up funny signs.  Bands and DJs will play music.  I’ll make silly jokes with the other runners.  More importantly, at long last it seems that running itself has gotten back to being fun for me.  Just running.  I love it.

I went for a short run this morning.  I confess to a brief feeling of disappointment that it was not pouring rain.  I considered bagging the run and going for a long walk later, like I did on Monday.  Then I thought about how it was supposed to be hot and humid later, that I really don’t like to take more than a day off at a time, and that if I ran right away I would probably drink less coffee, an important factor in my quest for hydration.

I set out thinking to do a mere twenty minutes.  I decided to include the hill by Valley Health, since I had run a fairly flat route on my last run.  It was already quite humid.  It is supposed to be humid on Boilermaker Sunday.  I suppose it is too late to get really acclimated to running in heat and humidity.  Well, maybe it wouldn’t be too bad.

And it wasn’t.  I got sweaty, of course, and pretty thirsty.  I ran for 28 minutes, then walked ten as a cool-down.  I stopped home before the cool-down and picked up the bottle of water I had foresightedly left for myself on the deck (my computer is telling me foresightedly is not a word, but I think it is) (OK, I’m pretty sure it’s not, but it is what I mean).  Side note:  the water bottle thing is  what I do every time I run, but I wasn’t sure if I had ever mentioned it.

I felt pretty happy with myself for running, especially when it began pouring rain later in the morning. Then again when the sun came out and it got stinking hot in the afternoon. I hope I’ll feel as happy on Sunday after 15 Ks.  I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

