RSS Feed

Tabby Goes to the Doctor

I mentioned that Tabby, our adorable schnoodle, was feeling under the weather but appears to be on the mend.  I thought I would give a brief shout-out to Mohawk Valley Veterinary Service.

 

Tabby had started ailing Friday evening.  We immediately cancelled our plans so we could stay home with her.  We hoped it was just something she ate or a 24-hour bugaboo (dogs get that too, don’t they?).  When we woke up Saturday morning, we saw that this was not the case.

 

Being an early riser can be a curse.  It took forever for it to be 8 a.m. when we thought the vet opened (we had a rather old piece of paper with their number and hours).  No answer at first.  Oh no!  I was on the computer trying to look up emergency veterinary care when Steven tried again and got an answer. Phew!

 

The doctor would be in at nine.  I even had time to make my blog post before I left.  Steven had already gone to work, although he would have liked to call in (employers are less generous  than blog readers about doggy sick days).  Tabby perked up a little when she saw the leash, but she was obviously having trouble moving.  I had to help her into the vehicle.

 

As we walked into the vet, a very cute cockapoo greeted us (I asked his person what breed).  He would have liked to be all over Tabby, but his person restrained him.  I petted him and said how cute and sweet he was.

 

When I told the receptionist about Tabby’s symptoms, she said it sounded like Lyme Disease.  I was surprised, because Tabby had not been in the woods (we do sometimes take her to the Nature Trail at Herkimer College) (previously referred to here as HCCC) or near deep grass (I don’t think there is any yet this year).  Apparently ticks are extremely prevalent this year and are turning up everywhere.  No dog is immune, and the tick medicine (which we do give Tabby) can only do so much.

 

Once we got in to see the doctor, a blood test quickly confirmed that it was Lyme Disease.  The doctor gave Tabby two shots —  which of course she did NOT like — and some medicine.

 

I was very grateful to the clinic, for getting Tabby right in and helping her so quickly.   Despite the worry, it was a fun experience, seeing a few dogs and a cat, and chatting with their people.  I heard but did not see the duck.  Yes, they have a resident duck, as two “duck crossing” signs warn.

 

Mohawk Veterinary Service is located at 5624 State Rt. 5, Herkimer, NY 13350.  For more information call 315-866-3417.

 

5 responses »

  1. Yay for the ducky Mohawk Valley Vet Service squad, Cynthia. My dear wife Karen and I will keep a more careful eye on Ellie B aka Dogamous Pyle now, thanks to your alert. My daily walks with her through Norwood Field park takes us past high grass. Uh-oh. Her tick medicine can only do so much, a smart blogger friend of mine says.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

