RSS Feed

Food, Drinks, Conversation

After the play on Friday (The Psychic at Ilion Little Theatre, it’s on again this weekend; go see it if you can), a bunch of us went to Applebee’s in Herkimer, NY for drinks, food and laughs. I don’t usually plug chain restaurants as Mohawk Valley Girl, but I have mentioned Applebee’s positively and I will do so again. We had a great time.

Steven and I got there first. I counted on my fingers how many were expected (I didn’t have enough). Was the big booth big enough? Should they push tables together? Two gentlemen at a nearby table volunteered to move if need be, but it was not necessary. Soon we were all seated around three tables pushed together (or was it four?) and sorting out with our waitress who went on whose tab.

Our waitress was fun and chatty. She explained her system of assigning us numbers. She was pleased to have such a large table, because her section was fairly quiet at the time. We ordered drinks. Some got appetizers, a few people got full dinners. Steven and I were still full from Sorrento’s, but we did sample a couple of our friends’ appetizers when invited to. Also, there was a large olive in my Perfect Margarita. That counts as a vegetable, doesn’t it?

Good conversation was, of course, our main reason for being there, as it is often my main reason for being anywhere (yes, I talk too much). Applebee’s was well-suited for that. A regular bar may have been too loud, especially for a large group like ours.

I stayed up way past my bed time. When I asked the waitress for our check, she said, “But I don’t want you to go!” I didn’t particularly want to go, either, but I sorely need my beauty rest (cue jokes about how there isn’t enough rest in the world etc.). I hope it isn’t too long before I have another fun night out with friends.

3 responses »

  1. Let’s plan something soon!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: I Haven’t Even Mentioned What I’m Wearing | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

