RSS Feed

I’d Like to Thank the Academy

The Oscars are kind of a big deal at our house. Specifically they are a big deal to my husband, Steven. He has watched them every year for — wait for it — 50 years. Yes, this was his 50th consecutive year of watching the Oscars. I’m a little embarrassed to admit I went to bed, but this isn’t about me (yes, it’s my blog about by life, and in general it is all about me, we’ll get back to that tomorrow.).

Steven and I both love movies. I think my tastes run a little shallower than his (hey, I haven’t written about a cheesy movie in a long time, I’ll have to do something about that), but I often appreciate a movie of Oscar caliber. Sad to say, in recent years we have not seen many of the nominees before the ceremony. In our defense… oh, it’s tiresome to list all our reasons, just excuse our slackness in that area.

I was happy to hear that the guy from the Farmer’s Insurance commercials won. J.K. Simmons, I know his name. I liked him before those commercials.

The real reason I’m writing this post, though, is because I saw an acceptance speech shared on Facebook and I’m going to share it again here. Graham Moore, the writer for The Imitation Game, said the following:

“In this brief time here, what I want to use it to do is to say this: When I was 16 years old, I tried to kill myself because I felt weird and I felt different and I felt like I did not belong. And now, I’m standing here and I would like for this moment to be for that kid out there who feels like she’s weird or she’s different or she doesn’t fit in anywhere: Yes, you do. I promise you do. You do. Stay weird, stay different. And then, when it’s your turn and you are standing on this stage, please pass the same message to the next person who comes along.”

I know Steven heard it because he saw the ceremony, but I had to read it out loud to him anyways. I teared up. What a kind, wise, wonderful thing to say. I wanted to share it. I don’t really have anything to add to it, but I guess I don’t have to. Happy Monday, everyone.

2 responses »

  1. That was a great acceptance speech MVG. Good call.

    Reply
    • I was inspired by it. In general I am bored by the acceptance speeches, because it’s just a list of people (I understand they want to thank people, but couldn’t they send a card later?). But every once in a while somebody says something great.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

