RSS Feed

Mmmmm… Sourdough

Ever since I moved to Herkimer, I like to bring Heidelberg bread to dinners and family gatherings. When I saw that people were bring real dinner items to the cast party of Busybody (I bet you thought I was done talking about that play. Fooled ya!), I signed up to bring the bread.

The play closed on Sunday the 8th, with cast party to almost immediately follow. Accordingly, on Saturday morning I headed out Route 28. I figured as long as I was going, I might as well have breakfast at the cafe. I did not know how crowded it would be so was pleased I could easily get a parking space.

Now where to sit? I started to sit at a table for four (the smallest available at the time) but changed my mind and moved to the counter. Sometime I would like to come in with a crowd and sit at the booth with a church pew for a bench. The counter had the added advantage that I could easily see all the baked goodies and decide which to purchase when I got my bread. I just love a treat.

I ordered poached eggs with sourdough toast. I was so pleased the sourdough was available. It is my absolute favorite, and they don’t always have it. As I sipped my coffee (well of course I got coffee! Did I even have to mention that?) and waited for my food, I worked on a letter to a friend. It is one of the joys of my existence to sit at an eatery and write a letter, blog post, novel, whatever. Hemingway did it in Paris. I do it in the Mohawk Valley.

Two men stood in front of me talking while a little girl holding a bakery box stood with varying degrees of patience.

“I’d have eaten whatever was in that box by now,” I told her after a while. That is why I did not purchase my baked goodies before ordering breakfast.

When the waitress refilled my coffee I asked her what kind it was. Paul de Lima from Liverpool, NY. I have a sister who lives in Liverpool. I wonder if she can get me some.

Along with my bread I chose a couple of tea cookies and a raspberry/cheese danish for Steven’s and my treat. The bread was a hit at the party, but not so big a hit that I did not bring any home. This was good news for me, because I was a little sorry that I had not gotten two loaves.

Heidelberg Cafe and Bakery is located at 3056 St. Rt. 28, Herkimer, NY, phone number 315-866-0999. For more information, visit their website at http://www.heidelbergbread.com/ or Like their Facebook page.

3 responses »

  1. Yum. We have Columbus Bakery bread here in Syracuse that Karen and I favor. That Heidelberg sour dough sure sounds good, though, MVG. Even with the local Paul de Lima brew right up the road in Liverpool, I still prefer Dunkin’ ground, and even buy it for our home coffee maker. I just do!

    Reply
    • I like all kinds of bread, but I think the Heidleberg stuff is something special. I like Dunkin’ coffee, too. Mostly, though, I like coffee the way my husband brews it. Doesn’t that work out well? Then again, you know what I say about coffee: It’s like sex: even when it’s bad, it’s still pretty good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

