RSS Feed

Blame It On The Play

I was afraid that after two “real” posts I would have a Wuss-out Wednesday. I had hoped to avoid it. I had two other Mohawk Valley adventures on Saturday I can write about. I still can. Just not today.

Yes, I am going to blame the play. I can’t write blog posts on my breaks at work when I have to study lines. Full disclosure: on one break I called my husband and on another I worked on a crossword puzzle with my co-worker. I think anyone can agree that these were also important activities. If you do not agree… hmmm, have we met? Have you read this blog? Never mind, on with my dithery non-post of the day.

There was a moment during rehearsal yesterday when I was suddenly having the time of my life. I was on stage, knowing most of my lines, saying them with the proper accent (at least as good as I get at it), and suddenly I started coming up with fun things to do. I knew why my character was crossing the stage. I reacted to the other people on stage. I was — dare I say it? — ACTING! Perhaps I flatter myself. But it was fun.

Don’t get me wrong. Rehearsal is always fun. There is no reason to participate in community theatre if it is not fun. But I cannot deny that some rehearsals are more fun than others. When I don’t know my lines it is painful. When other actors don’t know theirs it is even more painful. When nobody knows their lines it is excruciating! And of course learning lines is only the first step.

Oh, in case any of my fellow cast-members are reading this: No I did not know ALL my lines! I screwed up plenty of times. But I had moments where I felt like I knew what I was doing and it was fun.

Just to reiterate: the play is Busybody at Ilion Little Theatre, Remington Avenue, Ilion, NY, Jan. 30 and 31, and Feb. 1, 6, 7 and 8, at 8 p.m. Fridays and Saturdays, 2 p.m. Sundays. For more information visit ILT’s website at www.ilionlittletheatre.org. You can also Like them on Facebook.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Brevity is the Soul of Lame | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

