RSS Feed

Yearly Shout-Out to Melfe’s

Last Friday I made my annual shopping trip to Melfe’s in Ilion for my work shoes. My employer has a deal with them where I get a free pair every year, sometimes two depending on what I pick. Some of my co-workers do not take full advantage of the benefit, feeling their shoes can last more than a year. I like to pamper my feet. They have enough trouble holding up my weight all day.

I like wearing steel-toed work shoes. I enjoy knowing if I kicked anybody in the ass they would feel it. Full disclosure: I have never literally kicked anybody in the ass (note correct use of “literally”). But I have the option.

Only one other person was shopping at the time. Vicki greeted me right away and we went over to the women’s work shoes. I like the ones that look like sneakers. Right away I saw the same pair of Sketchers I have had three times.

“Seven and a half wide,” I said. They were in stock and they fit. Vicki told me they were included in the two-for deal, so I pointed to a Reebok and a Converse I liked. Only the Reeboks were available in my size. They felt pretty good, so I took them. It was an unusually decisive day for me.

As always I complimented Vicki on the good service.

“I’ll write a blog post about it,” I said. “Not that I think a lot of people read my blog.” (I did not mention to her my 500+ followers, because I don’t really know how many of them are local.) (Oh dear, did that just sound like I was bragging about all my followers to you? I’m not! I’m grateful for all my readers!)

Vicki said she had read my blog posts, remembering that I had written one about her and one about Mike, the other clerk. I was so pleased.

Melfe’s is located at 64 Central Ave., Ilion, NY. Phone number is 315-894-4094. In addition to work shoes, they carry sneakers and dress shoes. They also offer shoe repair.

2 responses »

  1. Sounds like a right and kicking place in the Valley, MVG. Nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

