RSS Feed

A Breakfast on Sunday Keeps Post-Christmas Letdown Away

I managed to keep my post-Christmas letdown away for one more day with the help the Herkimer, NY, Lady Elks. Every January they offer a breakfast on Sundays to help finance their projects for the year. Last year Steven had to work every Sunday. When we found he had today (Jan. 4) off, we were delighted.

The breakfast ran from 7 to 11 a.m. I actually found that out on the internet. Regular readers know I have a bit of a problem with technology. I usually have better luck going through the newspapers in our recycle bin to find out what I want to know. We left the house right around nine. The Herkimer Elks Club is on Mary Street, close to where we live. We found a parking spot in the parking lot, which I thought was lucky. After all, these breakfasts are quite popular.

A gentleman was out putting ice-melt on the sidewalk. He came over and offered me his arm for walking through the parking lot. Of course I had not worn anything sensible like my army boots. What do you want from me? It was a meal out; I wanted to wear a nice skirt and pantyhose.

Breakfast was $9. We also spent $5 on the 50/50 raffle and put a tip in the tip jar. There was no need to wait till after breakfast to do this, because I knew I would get great service. Steven and I both got eggs over medium, wheat toast, bacon, and homefries with onions. I got baked beans while Steven got pancakes, although we both could have gotten both. As soon as we sat down we were offered coffee and juice.

Our food came right away and was delicious. We saw a few people we knew and said hello. It was altogether a very enjoyable experience. Breakfasts will also be held Jan. 11, 18 and 25. I hope Steven has another Sunday off on one of those dates. Perhaps he would not mind if I found another date.

Leave a Reply

