RSS Feed

Thankful It’s Lame Post Friday

I’ve noticed that other bloggers as well as random Facebook posters are either counting up things for which they are thankful or ranting about the out of control Black Friday sales (I don’t CARE if you like the Black Friday sales, nobody can convince me that they are not out of control, please don’t try). Shall I add to the cacophony? Or shall I keep in the spirit of my own Lame Post Friday with some random observations and half-baked philosophy?

Oh you know what I’m going to do, don’t you?

First observation, not particularly random or original, is that most of us are thankful for similar things. I think it was Tolstoy who wrote that happy families are all alike, it was the miserable ones that were interesting. I’ll come up with some half-baked philosophy about that another time. For now I will postulate that most of us do not read about other people’s thankfulness in hopes of seeing something new. I think we read it to get that warm, fuzzy, familiar feeling. “Ah, yes, I’m thankful for that, too!” Sometimes we just need to be reminded.

Regarding out of control sales on Black Friday, my observation is that I can’t think of a thing to say about it that hasn’t been said before. How mortifying. I think all the half-baked philosophy has been taken as well. What’s a blogger to do?

Wait a minute, it’s Lame Post Friday. I don’t have to do anything. I’m over 200 words. I can hit publish and call it a day. But in case anybody is wondering: I had a lovely Thanksgiving with family and friends. I have a lot to be thankful for. The only shopping I did on Black Friday was to purchase some post cards at the Rome Historical Society, and you can take that as a preview of coming attractions, because I intend to write about it later when I’m not feeling so lame.

On to Christmas overkill!

Leave a Reply

