RSS Feed

Witch Scene?

So a while ago I wrote a post right after I got home from a rehearsal for a Shakespeare scene I am in. I felt it was not as good a post as I had wanted to write. I see now that I did not write a better post about that or the other rehearsal we had. Now I am home from the third and final rehearsal before the scene is presented Thursday. I’m not saying this is going to be a better blog post, but as usual, it’s the best I got right now.

The scene is from Act I of Macbeth. I’m the third witch. Yes, there is a theatre superstition that you are not supposed to say the word “Macbeth.” I believe it is OK when the play (or the scene) you are working on is actually Macbeth. Be that as it may, the scene is to be presented at Gansevoort House Books in Stone Mill. It is part of their Adult Story Time, which is part of Third Thursday in Little Falls, NY.

Today was our dress rehearsal. I had my costume put together utilizing old Halloween costumes and clothes I just happened to have. I purchased Halloween make-up. I was set to witch myself up.

I made my hair stick up with gel and a blow drier. I put in contact lenses prior to putting on scary make-up. I thought I looked scary before I started on the make-up. Who knew my glasses were hiding such dark circles under my eyes? But I had purchased make-up so thought I might as well use it.

First I put on a white base. Not too much, just enough to make me look paler. After putting on black eyeliner, I used a brush to put black make-up on those dark circles. I looked at the rest of my face and decided the white base made the other lines on my face stick out enough. I put on some black lipstick and was done.

Rehearsal went pretty well. I’m looking forward to the performance Thursday. I’ll probably write a blog post about it.

6 responses »

  1. A photo woould be lovely.

    Reply
  2. Sounds pretty cool! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: From Witch to Watch | Mohawk Valley Girl

Leave a Reply

